Parish Pastoral Council

The role of the Parish Pastoral Council (PPC) is to support our priests in sustaining and developing the pastoral and spiritual life of the parish. As a consultative body the Pastoral Council offers a resource of knowledge, experience and skills and concern for the well-being of our clergy. The Parish Pastoral Council represents the parish community and gives voice to the needs of parishioners.

The Parish Priest presides over the Parish Pastoral Council which is comprised of clergy and parishioners who represent various aspects of parish life. The Council provides a forum for sharing ideas, discussing priorities and co-ordinating the work of parish groups and ministries. Pastoral Council members provide written reports to the Council prior to each meeting; this enables the Council to maintain an overview of parish activities and, where needed, advise or provide support.  The Parish Pastoral Council liaises with the Finance Committee regarding the stewardship of our parish. Issues are debated and agreement reached by consensus.

The Parish Pastoral Council meets three times a year. In addition an Annual Parish Meeting is held – the next meeting is scheduled for June 2017 – to elect members, who normally serve for a period of three years, to inform parishioners about pastoral and financial matters and to discuss priorities. The Council is chaired by a lay person elected by the other members. A voluntary secretary is appointed to circulate papers before meetings and to minute the meetings.

Throughout the year the Parish Pastoral Council endeavours to keep parishioners fully informed.  Summaries of Pastoral Council meetings and decisions reached are given at Sunday Mass and the minutes of the meetings are available to read at the back of the church.

Parish Pastoral Council Members are:

Name Representing Contact
Fr Paul McDermott (President) Parish Priest paulmcdermott@rcdow.org.uk
Fr Derek Hyett Assistant Parish Priest derekhyett@rcdow.org.uk
Lynn Bassett (Chair) Ecumenical activities Ppc-chair@boxmoorcatholic.org
Maria Butchart Caritas Maria.butchart@boxmoorcatholic.org
Ann Dodd Communications/ Youth Ann.dodd@boxmoorcatholic.org
Geoff Doyle Property and Maintenance/ Health and Safety/ Fundraising Geoff.doyle@boxmoorcatholic.org
Jane Gonzalez Catechesis/ Liturgy Jane.gonzalez@boxmoorcatholic.org
Jean Hunt Jean.hunt@boxmoorcatholic.org
Karen Moody Safeguarding Karen.moody@boxmoorcatholic.org
Janice Varney Hall Management Janice.varney@boxmoorcatholic.org
Eileen Whitehouse Fairtrade Eileen.whitehouse@boxmoorcatholic.org
Paul Ofori-Atta
Clare Bowers Secretary to the Parish Pastoral Council

 

contact: Lynn Bassett  ppc-chair @ boxmoorcatholic.org