Sacramental Preparation

The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life.
(Catechism of the Catholic Church 1210)


Why are the Sacraments important?
Sacraments are central for Catholics. They help us meet the incarnate Jesus, who comes to us through cleansing water and invigorating oil to welcome us, life-giving bread and wine that become Christ’s Body and Blood, a hand outstretched in forgiveness, vows lovingly exchanged in marriage, a hand designating someone for ordained service and oil to strengthen the sick and comfort the dying.

The Latin word sacramentum means “a sign of the sacred.”

The seven sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred, significant and important for Christians. They are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence. That is what theologians mean when they say that sacraments are at the same time signs and instruments of God’s grace.

According to the Catechism of the Catholic Church (1127),

“Celebrated worthily in faith, the sacraments confer the grace that they signify. They are efficacious because in them Christ himself is at work; it is he who baptises, he who acts in his sacraments in order to communicate the grace that each sacrament signifies”

What are the Sacraments?

These seven sacraments are:

  1. The Sacrament of Baptism
  2. The Sacrament of Confirmation
  3. The Sacrament of Eucharist
  4. The Sacrament of Reconciliation (Confession)
  5. The Sacrament of Marriage
  6. The Sacrament of Holy Orders
  7. The Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick

Follow the links for each of them to learn more.

Sacramental Preparation at St. George’s, Sudbury
For information about Sacrament Preparation at St. George’s Sudbury, follow the link to the Catechesis page.